Click for JIH home page

Junior Ilkley Harriers, established 2003

Click for Clubmark info

We all remember Cross-Country from our school days - it's brilliant fun splashing about in all that water and mud and being allowed to get away with it. We actively encourage this sort of behaviour!

Local Primary School races are suitable for all children from Year 1 to 6, We set up and coordinate the Wharfedale Primary Schools XC League competition for years 3 to 6 based on the results from locally organised School events.

Peco XC League races are suitable for all abilities and newcomers to competitive racing. Peco League details, results and league tables can be found here. There is a 2 mile race for Years 7 to 11 and a 1 mile race for Years 2 to 6. Races usually start 10am and 10.20am before the senior events. Junior races are chip timed.

West Yorkshire League races are more suitable for the better runner and children over the age of 9 years.

We also have individuals and teams at the Yorkshire, Northern and National Cross-Country Championships.


New for 2024/2025 season.......

Ilkley Harriers Junior Fell and Cross-Country League (2024/2025 details)

We have run a JIH fell league for many years but for the coming year we are extending it to include cross-country races as well. David and Rachel Holder and Emma Barclay are in charge of coordinating the league. There are 8 age categories and trophies for U9 (min age 6 with individual medals given to the first three boys and girls), U11, U13, U15 and U17 (boys and girls). For 2024 we are changing the format to have 20 races - 12 fell and 8 cross-country with the league running from March 2024 to March 2025. League points are awarded at each event and at the end of the series awards will be presented to the first 3 finishers provided a minimum number of races have been raced (number tbc). An individuals best 10 points scored will count (9 for U13, U11 and U9).

The 2024/2025 league events are:

12 x fell races (see fell race page for details)
Plus 4 x West Yorkshire XC series
4 races from the PECO XC race series.